Skip to content

Divorce Course

by Sara Kubik, owner and attorney at Kubik Legal

Divorce Course is for people who want to get divorced in Illinois but do not want to pay to retain a lawyer. It's a Do It Yourself Divorce process.

As of March 16, 2020, Cook County Domestic Relations Courts are closed to normal matters, normal lawsuits. BUT! A few days later, the presiding Judge created an Order that allows uncontested divorces to be resolved remotely.

What does this mean for you?

  1. If you have an uncontested divorce (you've resolved everything with your spouse) and you want to file for divorce in Cook County, you can still e-file your documents to start your divorce. E-filing is still working. It has not closed.
  2. Further, you can now finish your divorce with a hearing (called a prove-up) over the phone with the Judge. You do not need to physically go to court to get divorced.

This start-to-finish completely remote process is new. But it is completely doable for you as well. You do NOT need to retain a lawyer in order to get divorced in Cook County. Now more than ever, Divorce Course is for you.

We've got tracks for divorces without children, and divorces with children. In each course, there are over 20 videos that show you the exact forms you need to fill out, what they mean, how to fill them out, how to e-file them, and now, how to remotely appear before the judge in order to get divorced. You can do it! We're here to help.

Sign up now:

Cook County Divorce, no minor children

*with a 3 month minimum membership

Cook County Divorce, with minor children

*with a 3 month minimum membership

Divorce Course was created by an actual Illinois-licensed attorney who practices family law. She has appeared in front of these judges and knows the steps necessary for people to get divorced in Illinois.

So if you see anything online that promises you that you can get divorced in 3 easy steps, ignore it. Take a look at who is behind these sites and you may see it's not a lawyer. Wouldn't you rather use a service created by an attorney who regularly practices in front of the very judges who may be overseeing your case?

Unfortunately, the divorce process in Illinois is not simple. It's not a 3-easy-steps-and-online-only streamlined process. There are many filings and even though you can now remotely go before the Judge, you'll want to get everything in order before then.

Divorce Course breaks the process apart and offers you and your spouse step-by-step instructions on how to move through it. We know these steps work because we use these exact steps when we represent spouses going through divorces in Illinois.

Our goal is to get you through the divorce process without having to pay thousands of dollars to a law firm.

When you sign up for Divorce Course, you'll get the following:

  1. How to find the forms to use in your divorce process. Some forms are available openly online. Anyone can use them. We'll show you where they are located. Some forms you need are not openly available. Divorce Course has unique forms that we use when we represent legal clients. You will get these forms as well.
  2. How to calculate child support and maintenance. You don't automatically get child support and maintenance (alimony) in Illinois. Learn how to calculate amounts and understand the issues in your case.
  3. How to e-file legal documents. In Illinois, all divorce filings must be e-filed! Our attorney, who is also a former academic, walks you through e-filing documents. She'll demo how both parties e-file their various legal documents. Many websites only help you fill in forms. But simply filling in forms will not get you divorced in Illinois! Divorce Course gives you forms, explains what they mean and how to fill them in, and shows you how to e-file them online. E-filing documents can be challenging... we make it understandable.

  4. How to get a court date and remotely appear before a Judge. Yes, you need to go before the Judge at least once when you file for divorce in Illinois. As of March 19, 2020, though, you can now appear by telephone or videoconference. We'll walk you through how to get a court date, what to do before it, what to expect the day of your remote prove-up, and what may be required of you after this date.
  5. 2 hours per month to speak with an Illinois licensed attorney. Illinois attorneys routinely charge clients $400 per hour. Many charge this for a one-time consultation! Divorce Course not only gives its members access to our content, the member spouse also get 2 hours per month to talk to our Illinois licensed attorney. Do the math and you'll see why signing up with Divorce Course makes more sense.

Divorce Course is for spouses who have already resolved all issues. These may include the division of assets, debts, parenting plans, child support, and maintenance (alimony). Both spouses must be involved in the divorce process. These are called uncontested divorces.

A free example of an introductory video in lesson 1 of the Divorce-with-no-children track is below. Remember that there is more than a video for each lesson.

Sign up now:

Cook County Divorce, no minor children

*with a 3 month minimum membership

Cook County Divorce, with minor children

*with a 3 month minimum membership

Monthly membership fees do not include court filing fees or transcript ordering fees.

Divorce Course includes 2 hours per month to contact our attorney. While the video and web content are for both parties, only the party that paid for Divorce Course may contact our attorney.

If you have any questions about Divorce Course, email us at info@kubiklegal.com, or leave us a voice message at 312-620-0283. Stay safe. Stay distanced. And remember there are people who can help you.

Divorce Course Terms of Service